Where you’ll find me on April 2…and where I hope to see you!

I hope you will join me and the whole Urban Word NYC crew for an incredible night. The best spoken word teen poets in the city compete for a chance to represent NYC at the 2011 Brave New Voices Nationals (also shown on HBO). The Boys and Girls Choir of Harlem will perform, as will NYC’s Youth Poet Laureate.

April 2, 7-10pm, Apollo Theater, click here for tickets

I’ve been working with some of the students, and can wholeheartedly attest – they are brilliant, unbelievably well-spoken and hilarious. Essentially, they put my 17-year-old self to shame.

For those of you not familiar with Urban Word NYC, it is a non-profit that has been at the at the forefront of the youth spoken word, poetry and hip-hop movements in New York City since 1999. Urban Word NYC presents literary arts education and youth development programs in the areas of creative writing, journalism, college prep, literature and hip-hop to teens throughout the city. One former student and now the program associate for the organization said,

“Urban Word served as one of few spaces of refuge for me in a world that began to reveal its subtle and overt prejudices to my young eyes. The Urban Word community helped to create me as a leader, mentor, activist and confidant in other areas of my life where my peers did not have access to such resources and services.”

Buy your tickets via Ticketmaster. This is not one to miss!

Leave a Reply

